Father’s Day Reflections – Storm King Art Center

A Father Reflected (and Reflecting) on Father's Day

A father reflected on Father’s Day…

     Special days call for special measures. And since on our entire planet there’s nothing quite like the Storm King Art Center in Mountainville, NY (Think Hudson Highlands & West Point area), what better place to find myself with family on Father’s Day. Reflecting on the meaning of being a father, and all that fatherhood entails, can’t really be done in a Barca Lounger with a TV remote in one’s hand. Well, for me at least. And as a private art dealer, I tend to more easily find reflective moods when interfacing with a smörgåsbord of inspiring art in a profoundly scenic setting on a transcendent and beautiful day. So yesterday’s Storm King visit fit the bill perfectly. If you’ve never experienced this special place, please do consider putting it on your bucket list. Since 1960, these five-hundred acres of idyllic Hudson Vally landscape have been artfully peppered with sculpture from modest to monumental. And when I say monumental, I do mean MONUMENTAL. The stone visitor center is stunning and hosts rotating exhibitions which are sure to dazzle the senses. More on that in a subsequent blog entry, as I am planning a lengthy Storm King post which will give both future and past visitors my take on the unique delights of this place.

     I digress though from today’s task at hand which is about the joys and responsibilities of being a father, as well as the joys and responsibilities of being a son (to my father, who I’ve worked with in our family art gallery since I joined in 1985). The picture below shows my fantastic three kids striking a pose which was echoed by some random metal bather lady by Emilio Greco who snuck into the shot. I know they were supposed to give me gifts for Father’s Day, but truthfully every day is Father’s Day for me.

Striking a pose

My three kids putting the father in Father’s Day…

     Getting back to the whole idea that in America fathers do perhaps too much reflecting in their Barca Loungers with TV remotes in hand I’d like to suggest the healthy outdoor relaxation alternative pictured below. Just out of frame are my three kids approaching with fresh mint iced-tea, some seasonal fruits, and an artisanal dark chocolate bar. Well, one can dream…

"Relaxing - Storm King style"

Relaxing, the Storm King way…

     Also on the grounds of Storm King, there is one fabulous sculpture you can touch and climb on – Isamu Noguchi’s 1977-8 Momo Taro invites climbing, interacting, reflecting on fatherhood…and top secret agent activities of a certain father who, despite pretending to hold down a day job as a private art dealer, is actually involved in international intrigue, espionage, and saving the world. Don’t let that seemingly tiny and innocuous red sculpture in the distance (Alexander Liberman‘s 1970 Adam) fool you. To my trained eye it looks like it has menace in mind. Oh, and please don’t blow my cover…

"Secret Agent Dad"

Hey, father’s can play “Secret Agent Saves the World” on Father’s Day…

The end of my Father’s day yesterday found me back in Manlius, for a warm hug with my own father, who I’m lucky enough to work with and live just down the street from. He’s in his 9th decade now and still in the prime of life as a business partner, husband, and father to myself and my two sisters. We’re all lucky to have him in our lives as a dad-mentor-resource deluxe.  The picture below is of our father, before he even was a father, toasting to, just perhaps, a future life which we can now reflect upon and toast right back to him, along with our hearty “Thanks and nicely done, Dad!” sentiments.  I’ll end my reflecting now with appreciation for the hugs I received as well as the hugs I gave on Father’s Day 2012.

"A future father, circa 1950"

A toast from the past (circa 1950), by a future GREAT father!

Leave a Reply

